SPAR FAI Primary School 5s Programme 2019


The highly anticipated SPAR FAI Primary School 5s Programme 2019 is coming to an exciting conclusion!




The SPAR5s as it’s commonly known, is a 5-a-side competition which is open to boys and girls from 4th, 5th and 6th class, and puts emphasis on fun and inclusivity. The blitz day format is coordinated at local level with the assistance of a network of FAI Development Officers and local primary school teachers. These personnel co-ordinate events at County level with qualifying schools progressing to Regional, Provincial and National Finals.

The programme has over 37,000 students participating this season with a remarkable 42% of those participants female.

There are 6 divisions to suit all school sizes with small, medium and large schools all catered for. While the programme encourages boys and girls to play on the same team, there is also a separate competition for girls’ schools. A number of teams can represent one school depending on the size of their student body, giving more children the chance to develop their skills in a safe, child centered and exciting environment.



SPAR have been the Official Convenience Retail Partner for the FAI since 2012. While there are many elements to their partnership agreement, the emphasis for the retailer is to support and promote grassroots football in the local community.

It’s the perfect fit given that SPAR have 400 high quality, conveniently located outlets spread across the country who are equally as enthusiastic about this year’s programme.  The local retailers will be showing their support for their local schools again this season | #SPAR5s



Mark Scanlon,  National Co-ordinator for Schools and Third Level Football,  recently announced that the programme is now the largest grassroots programme within the FAI with a total of 37,448 players taking part in 2019. This is made up of 4,681 teams from 1,696 schools across the country.

County and regional finals of the SPAR FAI Primary Schools 5s Programme have now concluded with winning teams from across the country now on their way to the National Finals at the Aviva Stadium on May 29th.

The following teams have made it through all the rounds of the championship and are now ready to give it their all to be crowned National Champions!


Section Name of School Address County
Boys A Ardkeeran NS Riverstown, Sligo
Boys A Clonlisk N.S. Clonlisk, Shinrone, Birr Offaly
Boys A Trafrask National School Trafrask Adrigole Beara Cork
Boys A S.N. Colmcille Fintown Donegal
Girls A Lisacul   Roscommon
Girls A St Fintan’s NS Bridgetown Mayglass Wexford
Girls A Crusheen National School Crusheen, Co. Clare Clare
Girls A Scoil Mhuire Caiseal Fanad Donegal
Boys B Cregmore NS Cregmore, Claregalway, Galway
Boys B Gaelscoil Chill Mhantáin Seanphobalscoil na Mainistreach, An Ghléib, Cill Mhantáin Wicklow
Boys B Lisnagry National School School Road, Lisnagry, Co. Limerick. Limerick
Boys B St. Orans N.S. Cockhill, Buncrana Donegal
Girls B Clarinbridge NS Clarinbridge Galway
Girls B Mucklagh NS Mucklagh Offaly
Girls B Faha NS Killarney Kerry
Girls B Glenswilly NS Newmills, Glenswilly Donegal
Boys C St John the Apostle N.S. Knocknacarra Western Distributor Road Galway
Boys C Scoil Muire Banríon, Edenderry Gilroy Ave, Edenderry Offaly
Boys C Scoil Phádraig Naofa Foxwood, Rochestown Cork
Boys C St. Joseph’s Carrickmacross Monaghan
Girls C Scoil Ide Ardnamara Galway
Girls C St. Laurence’s NS Sallins Kildare
Girls C Ovens National School Ovens Cork
Girls C Scoil Iosagain St.Mary’s Rd, Buncrana Donegal


Wishing all teams the very best of luck at the Aviva Stadium on Wednesday 29th May!